wandering for sanity

Over the last few weeks, as the weather has got warmer and my workload has increased, I’ve been wandering across to the Royal Botanical Gardens during my lunchbreaks or later in the afternoon – it’s like a little sanity interlude. So I thought I’d share a few photos of my favourite section – the herb garden.

It may seem like an odd choice – most people I know are more in love with the rose garden (which I find both gaudy and barren at the same time – I effing HATE roses) or just walking along near the harbour (which admittedly is spectacular). But there is something really un-ostentatious and peaceful about the herb garden. There’s also something about the practicality of a herb garden vs. the aesthetics of a botanic gardens that really appeals to me. So, without further ado, here are some pictures:

I think this is a type of dogbane:

20110922-070955.jpg

White lavender:

20110922-071422.jpg

If someone can identify this, that would be awesome. It looks a tiny bit like feverfew but I’m not sure:

20110922-071607.jpg

Leave a Reply

