2012: How I Plan It

Firstly, Happy New Year everyone!  I hope you all had a lovely holiday season and didn’t overindulge too spectacularly (as I did…oops).  We’ve just had the internet re-connected after our house move, so for once I have a legitimate reason for not posting.

The re-opening of the online world has bought with it a torrent of  posts about reflections on 2011, resolutions for 2012 and ways in which we can save the world this year (and not just from the anticipated ‘End of the World as Prophecied by the Mayans’ or from the 2050 earth expiry date floated by the WWF).  Sometimes, I find these lists depressing.  So often, the same things come up year after year – switch your lightbulbs, have shorter showers…it seems that every year, our being creatures of habit unwilling to change becomes clearer and clearer.

This year, I’m living in an apartment with no garden and sodding halogen light bulbs that I don’t think I can replace.  Composting will be difficult with so little space and so few plants to share it with.  I’ll need to think of other ways to save electricity, outside of switching to energy saving bulbs.  We have also been blessed/cursed with air conditioning, which I will need to resist as the summer warms up.  In order to make sure that 2012 doesn’t turn into the Year of Lucinda’s Enormous Carbon Footprint, the plans are as follows:

1) Read more.  I adore reading, but it didn’t happen as much as I’d have liked last year – when I wasn’t studying, I spent too much time stretched out on the couch watching episode after episode of whatever TV show had taken my fancy at that point – Dexter, Game of Thrones, Green Wing.  I’d argue to anyone that they’re quality shows, but I think that TV in general is imagination-stifling and it definitely burns more electricity than a bedside lamp.  I won’t stop watching the things that I enjoy, but I probably don’t need 3 episodes a night.

2) Find someone else who wants our compost. David is originally from the country and his parents have an impressive vegie patch and a crew of some oft-hungry chickens.  My parents, while living in the ‘burbs, have an enormous block and about 3 small gardens.  There will be someone who can save us from the guilt of throwing peelings in the bin.

3) Cook more.  Towards the end of last year, we became increasingly lazy about preparing our own food and more reliant on take-away Mexican, Thai and pizza.  By cooking at home, we should be able to reduce our waste, stay healthier and save a lot of money.

4) Stay vego.  I’ve linked to the EWG’s Meat Eater’s Guide to Climate Change and Health before – and no matter how many times I look at it myself, the statistics startle me.  Eating no meat or only eating it on very special occasions is the single biggest thing I can do this year to help the environment.

So what do you have planned for 2012?  Environmentally or otherwise, are there any changes you’re making?

4 thoughts on “2012: How I Plan It

  1. Inspiring! I hope you meet them all. I especially like your one about reading. I have never thought about reading as a greener alternative to TV but it’s so true!

      • Not weird at all. I would read more if it didn’t put me to sleep : )
        And I’m not kidding. It doesn’t matter what I read, I fall asleep withing half an hour.

        Good luck in your new place Lucinda. I hope your plans to avoid your “Enormous Carbon Footprint” work out well.

Leave a Reply

