remembering the season of the baked white

One of the reasons that I think people have become so much more detached from the environment these days is our disconnect with weather and seasons.  Today, it was 32 degrees in Sydney, but I sat in an air-conditioned office with no opening windows from 8am to 4pm.  As I leave, there are about 3-4 hours of daylight left and the worst of the heat will have passed.

I decided to go for a walk during lunchtime to become reacquainted with summer again – I remember the warm weather of childhood better than the summer of two years ago.  So today I explored the Royal Botanic Gardens for signs of summer…

The tiny, shrunken shadow from the midday sun (my toes are just off this shot)

The gaudy-ness of the rose garden in full bloom

The scattering of office workers, hiding in shade (I instagram-ed this one in the hopes that it might convey the warmth and haziness of the day a bit better)

Best of all though, the dry, yellow-bleached buffalo grass.  This is the most emblematic of a Sydney summer to me – it reminds me of years of skinned knees, running under the sprinkler in the front garden and dog poo in public parks that had dried and baked white in the sunshine.

What reminds you of the seasons?  Do you think that our bubble-wrapping from their influence is a bad thing?

 

2 thoughts on “remembering the season of the baked white

  1. What reminds me of the seasons? Snow. Lots and lots of snow!!!
    I grew up in a few different cities throughout Canada, but the common link was always snow. Especially in Winnipeg where we got so much snow that when you shoveled your driveway you ran out of places to put it : ) Although I love it when the leaves “turn” in the fall, nothing beats a thick layer of the snow covering every surface in sight.

    I agree with your comment “One of the reasons that I think people have become so much more detached from the environment these days is our disconnect with weather and seasons.” Also, I do think “that our bubble-wrapping from their influence is a bad thing”. However, in my case, it’s kind of funny because I think one of the reasons why I feel so connected to the environment is (in part) because I can see how the winter snow I love so much is making itself more and more scarce.

Leave a Reply

