Going local!

I am super excited about today’s post!

You see, we are trialling Foodconnect at the moment and we picked up our first box on Wednesday.  Squee!

So far, I’ve been really impressed with the contents.  One of the tastiest rockmelons I’ve had in years.  Tomatoes that taste like tomatoes.  Lettuce, kale, pumpkin, zucchini, spring onions, carrots, onions and peaches.

I even made kale chips!

We started trying Foodconnect on a recommendation from my lovely work friend, Bree.  I had been looking to ‘go local’ with my fruit and vegetables for quite some time, but wasn’t entirely sure where to start.  There is a weekly “farmers market” held about 30 minutes walk from where we live, but it tends to be very overpriced with very ordinary produce.  It’s also not necessarily organic, which Foodconnect generally is (although they do source some food from chemical free suppliers who don’t have organic status yet).

So, we signed for four boxes with Foodconnect.  The average food mileage per box is 250km (although some would be a lot less, while others slightly more).  I’m really looking forward to getting a better understanding of  seasonal foods (the boxes are based on what’s available right now and aren’t even scheduled until the week before) and having fresher, tastier fruits and vegetables.  I’m also looking forward to trying new things . Believe it or not, I’d only had kale once before yesterday! There should be a lot of opportunity for experimentation which will be interesting and challenging.

I’ll keep you posted on how it all goes and what we decide at the end of the four weeks.

Kale Chips

So, the picture isn’t real pretty, but these were amazingly delicious and simple.

You’ll need:

Kale

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt (probably less than I used -David described it at 10% less than the lethal dose.  Kale also has a really unique and delicious flavour that you’ll want to keep on show)*

Do:

Preheat the over to about 140 degrees celsius.  Remove stalks, rinse and dry the kale thoroughly, then slice into potato-chip-sized pieces.

Arrange the kale on an oven tray.  Drizzle lightly with the olive oil and sprinkle on the salt.

Bake for approx 10-15 minutes until the edges are almost starting to brown and the kale is slightly crisped.

Eat!

* I think these would work really well with some Cajun seasoning too
One thought on “Going local!

  1. During the summer months (June to late September) my wife and I get a weekly box of veggies from a local farmer. Everything is grown within a 20 minutes drive from my home and most of it organic. We pick it up at a weekly “Farmer’s market” that happens 2 km from my house.
    And to make it even better, the farmer puts a recipe in our weekly box which uses vegetables from the box.
    One of the upsides to living in a small province where agriculture is important!

Leave a Reply

