People, Food & Place: Understanding Food Deserts

Image from good.is

Hello!

I know I said I’d be absent until at least the 6th June, but I thought I’d pop by and share some of the bits and pieces I’ve been working on over the past few weeks.

The following is a brief poster presentation that is part of my work on food deserts.  I’ll be finishing up the actual assignment in about 1 1/2 weeks now…I’ll almost be sad to see the back of it.  It’s incredibly interesting.  There will definitely be more on this to come.  In the meantime though,

People, Food & Place

Some other fantastic links that I thought were worth sharing:

The USDA Food Environment Atlas – interactive and brilliant

The USDA Food Desert Locator – similar to the above

CDC infographic on obesity levels in the USA – I found this strangely mesmerising and watched the USA getting fatter over…and over…and over.  My family thought I was weird.

This article in the NY Times – the food desert debate gets more controversial

Leave a Reply

