Catching up

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?  I’m sorry for the absence yet again.  I’ve had a lot on my mind lately.  Firstly, I had a bout of bronchitis, which was no big deal, just a bit of a nuisance and quite tiring.  Since then though, I’ve been going through a bunch of medical testing (not related to the coughing) which has been an enormous pain in the backside and a bit of a subconscious distraction.  I have what I very much hope will be the final test next week, so hopefully the outcome of that will be positive and I’ll be able to shake off a load of stress which has been niggling at the back of my mind for weeks.  Some good thoughts would be appreciated!

To those of you who’ve still been popping by – thanks so much for your patience and kindness.

So, what’s been happening?  On a personal level, I’ve started a new job (hooray!) working at the NSW Department of Health (double hooray!).  I have decided to switch my Masters from Environmental Science to Environmental Health (triple hooray!) which will be offered for the first time at Macquarie Uni in 2013 (quadruple hooray!).  I’ve been off uni and will go back next week for just one subject this semester – Globalisation and Sustainable Development.  I’m super excited about it.

I’ve also become even more passionate about food and the environment.  Part of this has stemmed from my reflections on my own personal health – diet, exercise and so on, since having all these tests.  Part has come from reading Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma and, even more excitingly, having the opportunity to see him do a talk at Sydney Opera House some weeks back.  It was so exciting to see such a huge crowd of people who obviously cared about the future of the environment and the future of food. Plus, it  was obviously pretty amazing to get to see one of my food icons in person.

Environmentally, I’ve been a little out of the loop over the last few weeks. I’ve collected a few interesting snippets though.

It was impossible to miss the news about the massive melt of the Greenland ice sheet

This just goes to show how interdependent our environment and human actions are – fascinating and scary to think about.

Another reason why as a rule, I prefer to not eat meat – welcome to the pseudo free-range industry

Some people would try to convince you that a frog was a rabbit if it suited their agenda.  It’s sad to see people being so inflexible (in fact, down right bigoted) in their viewpoints – especially when two of them are media commentators with an alarmingly large audience.

And finally, just so that this isn’t an entirely wordy post, here are a few recent photos:

Otters at the Taronga Western Plains Zoo. I nearly died of cute.

The spectacular view, 15 minutes walk from my office

4 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. The pictures are great!
    I can’t believe that the galapagod tortoise will still be alive well into the next century – a living reminder of why it is important to offer degrees like “Masters of Environmental Health”!

  2. Glad to hear of all these positive changes in your life (quintuple hooray!) Good luck with your new direction in your studies.
    I followed your link to the “news” story about the unwavering skeptics. I wish journalists would stop giving these people attention. I gives the very false impression that there are two equal sides to this discussion where there isn’t.
    Oh, and very cute otters : )

Leave a Reply

