Welcome to 2013

IMG_1201[1]

New Year’s fairy lights

Happy New Year all!  I hope everyone had a lovely and relaxing festive season with family and friends.

I am going into this new year with a lot of good intentions.  One is to blog more frequently (ahem).  Another is to finally (finally) finish my Masters.  With just two subjects to go, I should be done by the end of the year.  And then, who knows?  Further study and research is definitely an option, but I guess we’ll need to wait and see. Yet another major one is to climb better and do more outdoors, so any adventures like that may pop up from time to time.

I’ve also done a short list of things to read and watch (and write about) this year.  A number of the books are already sitting on my bookcase, waiting for me to get to them (I did get three of Vonnegut’s books for Christmas though, so there maybe a delay on those!).  I’d love for some further recommendations, so please leave any ideas in the comments section.  Thanks!

Reading List: 2013

Food Politics: How the Food Industry Influences Nutrition and Health – Marion Nestle

Waste – Tristram Stuart.  I started this a few years ago and was fascinated, but, in my usual fashion, got distracted by another book.  I would also really recommend his TED talk (on the list below)

The Ethics of What We Eat: Why Our Food Choices Matter – Peter Singer and Jim Mason.

Food Matters: A Guide to Conscious Eating – Mark Bittman

Prosperity Without Growth – Tim Jackson

The Great Disruption – Paul Gilding

TED Talks: 2013

The Global Food Waste Scandal – Tristram Stuart.  I just watched this and it was short and excellent.

What’s wrong with what we eat? – Mark Bittman

Greening the ghetto – Majora Carter

The other inconvenient truth – Jonathan Foley

One seed at a time, protecting the future of food – Cary Fowler

Obesity + Hunger = 1 Global Food Issue – Ellen Gustafson

Why I must speak out on climate change – James Hansen

A Plant’s Eye View – Michael Pollan

Sustainable seafood?  Let’s get smart – Barton Seaver

Film/TV: 2013

BBC’s Planet Earth.  I’m just as shocked as you that I haven’t watched this yet

BBC’s Frozen Planet

Samsara

Home

The Great Global Warming Swindle (I’m curious.  I’m also not going to make any promises about my mood afterwards…)

No Impact Man

The Climate Question: Degrees of Change

The 11th Hour

2 thoughts on “Welcome to 2013

Leave a Reply

